Driving a Motor Vehicle in Florida is a Privilege You Earn

15 Feb

You will not be eligible to qualify for a Florida driving license if you fall under the following circumstances:

  • If you have your driving license revoked or suspended in several states;
  • If you have an alcohol or drug addiction;
  • If you have a medical condition which prevents you from driving, such as physical or mental ailments; (You will be eligible for a driving license if you have a condition related to deafness only)
  • If you do not meet the appropriate age to qualify for a driving license (It is 15 years for a Learner’s license, 16 years for a Class E license)

motor-vehicle

All drivers who qualify for a driving license must adhere to the proper rules of driving to maintain their eligibility of the license. If you are found to break the laws of traffic and drive unsafely, your license will be taken from you. The license can be canceled, suspended or revoked.

Your Driving License will be SUSPENDED on the following conditions:

  • If you make a counterfeit application for your driving license.
  • If you use your license for unlawful purposes or any act that breaks the law.
  • If you are convicted by the traffic court and receive orders which state that your license should be suspended.
  • If you don’t cooperate with the proper authorities to provide evidence that states whether you were driving while you were impaired by drugs or alcohol.
  • If you misuse a license that is restricted.
  • If you collect a definite tally of points for various traffic transgressions on the traffic point structure.
  • If you fail to appear in court when ordered or pay your fine when you break traffic rules and regulations.
  • If you fail to provide child support.
  • If you are unsuccessful in obtaining insurance for your vehicle.
  • If you don’t stop your vehicle in time for a school bus.
  • If you are underage and addicted to tobacco.
  • If you are a shoplifter.

Your Driving License will be REVOKED if you are found culpable for the following conditions, or if department track records reveal:

  • You were operating your vehicle while being impaired by the effects of drugs, alcohol or any other prohibited substances.
  • You broke the law with the help of your motor vehicle.
  • You refused to stop and provide the necessary help when involved in an accident which resulted in personal injury or death.
  • You were untruthful or deceitful to authorities regarding driving or owning a motor vehicle.
  • You had at least three incidents of unsafe driving in one year. Relinquishing bail and not presenting yourself in court to escape conviction for unsafe driving will be judged as a conviction.
  • You were involved in a corrupt act in which you used your motor vehicle.
  • You had 15 offenses or 3 chief transgressions within a period of 5 years for which you acquired points on your license.
  • You were caught with the possession of drugs.
  • Your vision is worse than the minimum standard requirements for driving.
  • You were caught competing in a Highway race. The court can also revoke your license if you have transgressions which break traffic rules and regulations.

Your driving license will be revoked immediately for the duration of 3 years, if you are found to have killed a person due to reckless or unsafe driving.

Cancellation
If you obtained your driving license due to an error or deception, (by providing wrong identification and information) the license will have to be cancelled.

Identification Cards
If you require an identification card, you can submit an application for an identification card at any office for driving license. Anyone who has an active driving license and wants to receive an identification card for Florida will have to surrender their current driving license. The law makes it illegal for anyone to be in the possession of an identification card and a driving license at the same time. The identification card will include your full name, date of birth, address, color photograph of you, your sex, and any other required information by the Division. All identification cards that are issued to people who are between the ages of 5 – 14 will be official for at least 4 years; the rest will be official for a period of up to 8 years.